Makenyats Monastery

From Armeniapedia.org
Jump to: navigation, search

X - XIII AD - Gegharkunik Marz

Makenyats Monastery

Some 5 km E of the Karchaghbyur turn-off, in a little wood, is an unsignposted right turn for Tsovak (1494 v), with a cuneiform inscription of Sarduri II of the 8th c. BC, cut in the rock on the N edge of a huge Iron Age cyclopean fort occupying the hill forming the S and W side of the village. After 1 km, take the right fork which winds up onto a narrow spine of rock, with khachkars, the road leading S to Lchavan (296 v, till 1967 Yarpuzlu, Bronze Age tombs, church of 13-14th c, khachkars) and then Makenis (312v). Makenyats Vank*, right of the road about 100 m inside the village, was a major cultural/education center of medieval Gegharkunik with 10-13th c. churches. Prince Grigor Supan built the central S. Astvatsatsin church (locked) at the end of the 9th c. In the near corner of the walled enclosure, hanging out over the gorge, is a picturesque medieval sanitary facility. The road continues to Akhpradzor 202 v), till 1978 Verin Zaghalu. (Source: Rediscovering Armenia Guidebook.)




Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Forms
Toolbox